Area students honored for academic achievements and exam results

Seven students from Decorah High School – Lucas Arendt, Aidan Nalean-Carlson, Peter Essa, Aya Hawthorn, Mason Myers, Alexis Walker, and Henry Weis – have been selected as a College Board National Recognition Program awardee. Margret Zook, a former DHS student, also received the honor.

All recipients received the National Rural and Small Town Award (NRSTA).

High School Administrators said the students earned the recognition because of their academic achievements in school and outstanding performance on the PSAT/NMSQT®, PSAT™ 10, and/or AP® Exams. It was noted that they’ve accomplished these milestones during a demanding period of their high school career.

“We’re thrilled that our students have earned this recognition. We are very proud of them for their achievements in their classrooms and on College Board assessments,” said Pat Trewin, DHS guidance counselor. “These programs help students from underrepresented backgrounds stand out to colleges during admissions.”

“We want to honor the hard work of these students through the College Board National Recognition Programs. This program creates a way for colleges and scholarship programs to connect directly with underrepresented students who they are hoping to reach,” said Tarlin Ray, College Board senior vice president of BigFuture. “We hope the award winners and their families celebrate this prestigious honor.”

Submit A Comment

Fill out the form to submit a comment. All comments require approval by our staff before it is displayed on the website.

Notify of
0 Comment
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments