DHS speech students earn All-State honors

Thirteen individiual speech participants from DHS have been selected to All-State.

Thirteen individual speech participants were selected as All-State performers on March 24, tying the record for the largest number of students nominated for individual speech in Decorah High School (DHS) history.

The students were coached by Molly Holkesvik, Gabriel Twedt, Carrie Kauffman, Rachel Breitenbach-Dirks, and Cydney Weitzel.Although the All-State Festival has been canceled for this year, all students selected to All-State will receive a medal and recognition.The following students’ performances were selected as receiving All-State honors: Acting: Tyler Irwin; After Dinner Speaking: Kendra Bigler; After Dinner Speaking (9th grade): Nathaniel Roberts; Expository Address: Clara Rooney; Original Oratory: Sofie Grouws and Leila Johnson; Prose: Amanda Kavan; Public Address: Jake Magner; Radio News Announcing (9th grade): Simon Kutz; Solo Musical Theater: Amber Hussain and Dylan Muhlbauer; and Spontaneous Speaking: Landan Folkedahl and Anya Lovstuen.

Submit A Comment

Fill out the form to submit a comment. All comments require approval by our staff before it is displayed on the website.

Notify of
0 Comment
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments