DHS students earn National Merit Scholarships

Two Decorah High School seniors, Simon Kutz and Anders Lovstuen, are among the Iowa recipients of coveted 2024 National Merit Scholarships.

Kutz plans to study international relations. He is a recipient of a $2,500 scholarship.

Lovstuen plans to study conservation, and also is a recipient of a $2,500 scholarship.

The 2,500 Merit Scholar designees from across the country were chosen from a talent pool of more than 15,000 outstanding finalists in the 2024 National Merit Scholarship Program. National Merit $2,500 scholarship winners are the finalists in each state judged to have the strongest combination of accomplishments, skills, and potential for success in rigorous college studies. The number of winners named in each state is proportional to the state’s percentage of the nation’s graduating high school seniors. A total of 23 Iowa seniors earned the honor this year.

These scholars were selected by a committee of college admissions officers and high school counselors, who appraised a substantial amount of information submitted by both the finalists and their high schools: the academic record, including difficulty level of subjects studied and grades earned; scores from the Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test (PSAT/NMSQT®); contributions and leadership in school and community activities; an essay written by the Finalist; and a recommendation written by a high school official.

NMSC, a not-for-profit organization operating without government assistance, was founded in 1955 specifically to conduct the National Merit Scholarship Program. The majority of scholarships offered each year are underwritten by approximately 320 independent corporate and college sponsors that share NMSC’s goals of honoring scholastically talented youth and encouraging academic excellence at all levels of education.

Submit A Comment

Fill out the form to submit a comment. All comments require approval by our staff before it is displayed on the website.

Notify of
0 Comment
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments