Individual speech students earn top honors

Decorah High School (DHS) individual speech students performed well at the district competition recently in Decorah, and many students advanced to state competition.

Decorah High School’s individual speech participants—coached by Molly Holkesvik, Gabriel Twedt, Carrie Kauffman, Rachel Breitenbach-Dirks, and Lyra McKnight— competed in the district contest on Saturday, Feb. 25, at Decorah High School.

Nearly 50 DHS students participated in the contest. From Decorah’s 51 performances, 45 received I (excellent) ratings. Those performances will advance to the state competition.

The directors shared, “Our students did an incredible job representing our school with their poise, professionalism, and preparedness. We are also so grateful for all of the students, staff, families, and community members who stepped up to help us host this contest.”

The Individual Speech State Contest will be held at Starmont High School in Arlington on Saturday, March 11.

Results for Decorah Speech Performers: Grades 10-12 Receiving a I (excellent) rating: Original Oratory: Becca Kane, Jenna Hartz, Diep Doan; Public Address: Grace Blikre, Alex McGohan; Expository Address: Max Wilson, Junior Battle; Storytelling: Margret Zook, Henry Weis, Ramsey Zilka; Prose: Danielle Rix, Bethany Hanson, Sophia Christman; Poetry: Kathryn Kelly, Ezra Vorvick, Brynn Storhoff; Review: Jensen Korsness, Elliana Brodbeck; Literature Program: Natalie Goodner, Hayley Stowe, Leslie Campbell; Solo Musical: Libby Phillips, Ella Grouws; Acting: Jake Magner, Ada Lovelace; After Dinner Speaking: Davis Coppola, Lily Sandhorst, Gabriel Hiner; Spontaneous Speaking: Michael Njus, Corina Timm, Ethan Stravers; Radio News: Rebecca Anderson, Anders Lovstuen, Simon Kutz; Individual Improv: Jack Sovern, Joe Stammeyer, Liam Chamberlain.

Receiving a II (good) rating: Expository Address: Luke Arendt; Review: Braunwyn Darrington; Solo Musical: Alex Kane; Acting: Elsa Johnson; Public Address: Klaara Short.

Results for Decorah Speech Performers Grade 9 Receiving a I (excellent) rating: Original Oratory: June Breitenbach-Dirks; After Dinner Speaking: Caleb Johnson; Prose: Ezra Harman-Wood; Literature Program: Mikayla Hiner; Solo Musical: Mikayla Hiner, June Breitenbach-Dirks; Acting: Caleb Johnson; Storytelling: Klara Kelly.

Receiving a II (good) rating: Acting: Ezra Harman-Wood.