N. Simon finalist for Ms. Dan Gable Wrestler of the Year

Naomi Simon is a finalist for the Ms. Dan Gable Wrestler of the Year. (Photo courtesy of Tami Bohr)

Fareway Stores, Inc., IAwrestle, and Iowa Corn present the 2024 Dan Gable Ms. and Mr. Wrestler of the Year Awards in coordination with the Iowa Wrestling Coaches and Officials Association (IWCOA).
The top three award winners have showcased their talents throughout the season to be voted the Mr. and Ms. Wrestlers of the Year. Dan Gable and Mark Ironside will be special guests handing out awards.
Among the top three for the Ms. Wrestler of the Year Award is Decorah senior Naomi Simon, along with Molly Allen of Riverside (Oakland) and Reanah Utterback of Sigourney-Koeta. The winners will be announced at the luncheon awards banquet taking place at the Fareway Conference Center in Boone on Wednesday, Feb. 28, at noon.
The two runner-up student athletes in each class will each receive finalist award plaques. A duplicate Wrestler of the Year trophy and duplicate Wrestler of the Year runner-up plaques will be provided to each high school where finalists attend, for permanent placement in the high school trophy case.
N. Simon finished off her career with a historic fourth state title. She won two IWCOA state championships prior to the IGHSAU sanctioning girls wrestling. At this year’s state tournament, she recorded four falls on the way to the finals where she finished on top of her bracket by earning a 15-2 major decision in the finals. Prior to her finals match Simon had recorded an impressive 44 straight pins on the year. Simon is also a USA Wrestling Preseason Nationals champion, a Fargo freestyle national champion, and is ranked #3 in the country at 170 pounds. She was a finalist for the Ms. Wrestler Award in 2023 and she is committed to wrestle for the University of Iowa next season.


Submit A Comment

Fill out the form to submit a comment. All comments require approval by our staff before it is displayed on the website.

Notify of
0 Comment
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments