SW grapplers grind out two wins

By Becky Walz,

The South Winn wrestling team picked up a couple of big non-conference wins Tuesday night, defeating Anamosa 43-36 and East Buchanan 44-33.
In the Anamosa match, eight Warriors won matches, three coming by fall, two decisions and three forfeits. Throwing their opponents were Ethan Maldonado at 138 pounds. The senior needed 4:21 to pin Easton Wheeler. Quinn Huinker also picked up a pin at 170 pounds, putting Drew Staab’s shoulders on the mat in 3:11. At 182 pounds it was Parker Timp throwing Logan Bell in 58 seconds. Ethan Timp (285) earned a 5-1 decision over Cole Sigler, while Aiden Feickert defeated Robert Scranton by a 15-7 major decision. Receiving forfeits were Kaden Bullerman (145), Bo Wangsness (113) and Xavier Williams (126).
Taking the mat versus East Buchanan, South Winn saw eight wins again. With throws were P. Timp (182) in 1:33 over clay Wilgenbusch and Wangsness (113) in 3:14 over Jaden Peyton. Winning by decisions were Chance Adam (152) and Bullerman (160), while forfeits went to Maldonado (138), Brady Ohrt (145), Feickert (106) and Williams (126).
Complete stats from Tuesday’s matches are available online at www.driftlessjournal.com.
“We had couple great team victories Tuesday night, even though we were short-handed with 4-5 starters out of the lineup. We talked about how we would need some guys to step up and the kids responded,” said Coach Jake Elsbernd. “We are looking forward to getting the squad healthier moving forward but can’t say enough about the effort our kids gave last night to earn those two dual victories. We will need more of that effort on Saturday at the Dike-New Hartford Duals.”
The next chance to see Warrior wrestling action is Saturday, Dec. 18, at the Dike-New Hartford team dual tournament at 10 a.m. The 2021 portion of the season concluded Tuesday, Dec. 21, at Fillmore Central in a triangular with Waukon at 5 p.m.

South Winn 43, Anamosa 36
106 – Aiden Feickert (SW) won 15-7 maj. dec. over Robert Scranton (A); 113 – Bo Wangsness (SW) won by forfeit; 120 – John Donovan (SW) LBF 1:18 to Sean Kirk (A); 126 – Xavier Williams (SW) won by forfeit; 132 – Lukas Weiss (SW) LBF 3:17 to Aaron Casey (A); 138 – Ethan Maldonado (SW) WBF 4:21 over Easton Wheeler (A); 145 – Brady Ohrt (SW) LBF 3:43 to Miken Wheeler (A); 152 – Chance Adam (SW) LBF 2:40 to Austin Scranton (A); 160 – Kaden Bullerman (SW) won by forfeit; 170 – Quinn Huinker (SW) WBF 3:11 over Drew Staab (A); 182 – Parker Timp (SW) WBF 0:58 over Logan Bell (A); 195 – Isabelle Kipp (SW) LBF 1:32 to Tayte Peterschmidt (A); 220 – SW lost by forfeit; 285 – Ethan Timp (SW) won 5-1 dec. over Cole Sigler (A)

South Winn 44, East Buchanan 33
106 – Aiden Feickert (SW) won by forfeit; 113 – Bo Wangsness (SW) WBF 3:14 over Jaden Peyton (EB); 120 – John Donovan (SW) LBF 0:38 to Sam Cook (EB); 126 – Xavier Williams (SW) won by forfeit; 132 – Lukas Weiss (SW) LBF 1:38 to Colton Torres (EB); 138 – Ethan Maldonado (SW) won by forfeit; 145 – Brady Ohrt (SW) won by forfeit; 152 – Chance Adam (SW) won 10-2 maj. dec. over Cameron Graham (EB); 160 – Kaden Bullerman (SW) won 11-2 maj. dec. over Chase Fults (EB); 170 – Quinn Huinker (SW) LBF 0:56 to Carter Wilgenbusch (EB); 182 – Parker Timp (SW) WBF 1:33 over Clay Wilgenbusch (EB); 195 – Isabelle Kipp (SW) LBF 1:51 to Nick Stahr (EB); 220 – SW lost by forfeit; 285 – Ethan Timp (SW) lost 3-1 dec. to Cody Fox (EB)

Submit A Comment

Fill out the form to submit a comment. All comments require approval by our staff before it is displayed on the website.

Notify of
0 Comment
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments